Centre for Nanosciences and Nanotechnology - Marcoussis Campus
Français Anglais
Semiconductor and Nanostructures Processing and Analysis > Structural Analyses
image 2
image 3
image 6

Puce Objectifs

We perform structural (crystalline and morphological) and chemical analyses required to qualify and validate the new materials and the elaboration techniques developped in our laboratory. Resources used are, in particular, X-ray diffraction, transmission electron microscopy, microanalysis and atomic force microscopy. These activities are carried out into the Department of Materials of C2N.


Puce Moyens

Puce X-Ray diffraction

Several types of diffraction and reflectometry analysis are proposed at LPN with state-of-the-art X-Ray diffractometers. Crystalline structures, defaults, alloy composition, relatives crystalline orientations can be precisely studied in a non-destructive way for thin films and for assemblies of nanowires or quantum dots.

Puce Multi-configurations diffractometer with rotating anode « Smartlab » RIGAKU

rigaku1 rigaku2
Specifications:

Auto-aligned multi-configurations diffractometer equipped with a 9kW rotating anode for powder diffraction, pole figures, reflectometry, high resolution diffraction, and grazing incidence diffraction (in-plane diffraction of crystallographic planes perpendicular to the surface.

  • 9kW rotating anode source
  • focusing mirror
  • incident beam monochromator Ge(400)x2 and diffracted beam monochromator Ge(220)x2
  • polycapillary lens
  • incident beam collimators 0,15°, 0,5°, 5°
  • diffracted beam collimators 0,114°, 0,5°, 5°
  • scintillation detector

Puce Multi-configurations diffractometer with sealed tube « X'Pert Pro MRD » PANalytical

ANSTFig1
Specifications:
  • focusing mirror
  • incident beam monochromator Bartels Ge(220)x4 and diffracted beam monochromator Ge(220)x3
  • polycapillary lens
  • collimator 0,18°
  • 1D Pixcel detector
  • Xe detectors


Phone numbers : 0033-(0)1-69-63-61-74 & 0033-(0)1-69-63-61-07

Persons in charge of these equipments : L. Largeau, O. Mauguin


Puce Aberration-corrected Transmission Electron Microscopy

Puce Jeol 2200FS Microscope

Material characterization is required for producing optimally grown functional nanostructures. Transmission Electron Microscopy is a very powerful tool for investigating nanostructures at the atomic scale.

A transmission electron microscope corrected from spherical aberrations allows focusing a very intense electron current as high as 55pA in a beam of 1 Angstrom diameter, which is the size of a unique atomic column. Scattering electrons are collected for the image formation, while X rays produced when the electron beam impacts the structure are collected for a chemical cartography or a spectroscopic investigation of the composition at the atomic scale.

LPN has purchased a Jeol 2200FS Transmission Electron Microscope, equiped with a corrector of spherical aberrations on the STEM probe, and also with an "ultra-high resolution" objective lens. This combination of a TEM column with these analysis tools operating since end of 2008.

STEM image in high resolution annular dark field (HAADF) of a InAsP quantum wire. Each white dot corresponds to an atomic column.
These wires are grown by Vapor Liquid Solid -VLS- technique in an MBE equipment (J.C. Harmand)

Puce C2N is a leading partner of EQUIPEX TEMPOS

C2N hosts and coordinates NANOTEM platform which consists of a TEM / STEM FEI Titan Themis (200kV, XFEG, Cs-corrector probe) with a EDX detector SuperX and a dual-beam (focused ion and electron) FEI Scios.


TEM TEM/STEM Titan Themis 200

- XFEG 80-200 keV
- Chemistem Super-X (EDX)
- Probe Cs-corrector (res : 80 pm)
- STEM BF, ABF, HAADF
- S-Twin polar piece 5,4 mm
(res point : 240 pm)
- camera CMOS CETA 4kx4k
- cryo-transfert
- plasma cleaner
- cryo-plunger (hosted by LPS)
TEM Dual-Beam Scios


- NiCol UHR Non immersion FESEM
- Sidewinder Ion Column 500V-30kV
- In-lens detector
- ETD/ICE detectors
- In-situ Easy-Lift manipulator
- Pt/ C GIS

C2N is also an actor of NANOMAX project dedicated to the study of nanocrystal growth in real time with atomic resolution in an environmental microscope (FEI Titan ETEM 300kV installed at Ecole Polytechnique).



Phone numbers : 0033-(0)1-69-63-61-73 & 0033-(0)1-69-63-61-74

Persons in charge of these equipments : G. Patriarche, L. Largeau


Puce Atomic force microscopes

The Atomic Force Microscope and related applications is today an indispensable tool to characterize surfaces at nanometer/atomic scale. The use of the complementarity of these AFM equipments in association with other surface characterization techniques, such as Scanning Electron Microscope, allows the development of efficient technological processes. Basic analyzes of surface characteristics (topography, roughness, film thickness) with monoatomic resolution, or studies using the magnetic or electric modes are used. AFM can also been used as a Nano-tool to modify surface of a sample by local anodic oxydation (LAO). The three AFM are managed by a specific team (3 permanent peoples), which respond to requests and form the users. Two of the three AFM are located in the clean room. One is used in restricted access and attached to the technology center, while the two other are devoted to specific studies in Departments of Materials and Nanoelectronics.

Objectives


Contact         Directory         How to Get to the C2N Marcoussis

Centre de Nanosciences et de Nanotechnologies - Campus de Marcoussis
Français Anglais
Technologie des semiconducteurs, des Nanostructures et Analyses > Analyses Structurales
image 2
image 3
image 6

Puce Objectifs

Il s'agit des analyses structurelles (cristallines et morphologiques) et chimiques indispensables pour l'évaluation et la qualification des matériaux et des méthodes d'élaboration développés au laboratoire. Les moyens mis en jeu sont en particulier la diffraction des rayons X, la microscopie électronique à transmission, la microanalyse et la microscopie à force atomique. Ces activités sont rattachées au Département Matériaux du C2N.


Puce Moyens

Puce Diffraction de rayons X à haute résolution

Nous disposons des équipements de diffraction les plus récents permettant de réaliser plusieurs types d'expériences de diffraction et de réflectométrie. Ces études permettent d'identifier les structures cristallines, les défauts cristallins, les compositions des alliages, les orientations relatives de différentes structures empilées, de façon non destructive, aussi bien sur des films minces que sur des objets nanométriques comme des fils ou des boîtes quantiques.

Puce Diffractomètre multi-configurations à anode tournante « Smartlab » RIGAKU

rigaku1 rigaku2
Caractéristiques:

Diffractomètre multi-configurations à anode tournante avec auto-alignement des configurations permettant de réaliser des expériences de diffraction des poudres, texture, réflectométrie, diffraction haute-résolution et diffraction des plans perpendiculaires à la surface en incidence rasante.

  • source à anode tournante 9kW
  • miroir focalisant
  • monochromateurs avant Ge(400)x2 et arrière Ge(220)x2
  • lentille polycapillaire
  • collimateurs incidents 0,15°, 0,5°, 5°
  • collimateurs de réception 0,114°, 0,5°, 5°
  • détecteur ponctuel à scintillation

Puce Diffractomètre multi-configurations à tube scellé « X'Pert Pro MRD » PANalytical

ANSTFig1
Caractéristiques:
  • miroir focalisant
  • monochromateurs avant Bartels Ge(220)x4 et arrière Ge(220)x3
  • lentille polycapillaire
  • collimateur 0,18°
  • détecteur 1D Pixcel
  • détecteurs ponctuels Xe


Téléphones : 01 69 63 61 74 et 01 69 63 61 07

Responsables : L. Largeau, O. Mauguin


Puce Microscopie électronique en transmission

Puce Microscope Jeol 2200FS

Le LPN a acquis un microscope Jeol 2200FS, équipé d'un correcteur d'aberration sphérique sur la sonde STEM et d'une lentille objectif de type « ultra-haute résolution », qui fonctionne depuis septembre 2008. L'association d'un spectromètre d'électrons placé dans la colonne du microscope avec un correcteur d'aberration sphérique est unique en France.

Cet équipement permet notamment l'analyse fine de la qualité des interfaces, la détermination locale de la structure, de l'orientation et de la composition chimique des échantillons, l'étude des différents modes de relaxation élastique et plastique, avec une résolution spatiale subnanométrique. Les techniques utilisées sont l'imagerie conventionnelle, l'imagerie à haute résolution, la microanalyse X et l'étude quantitative du contraste.

Pour l'observation en microscopie électronique, les échantillons sont amincis mécano-chimiquement ou par bombardement ionique.

Image STEM en champ sombre annulaire (HAADF) haute résolution d'un fil quantique InAsP. Chaque point blanc correspond à une colonne atomique.
Ces nanofils sont fabriqués par croissance « VLS » (Vapor Liquid Solid) dans un bâti EJM (J.C. Harmand)

Puce Le C2N est un partenaire de premier plan de l'EQUIPEX TEMPOS

Le C2N héberge et coordonne la plateforme NANOTEM constituée d'un TEM/STEM FEI Titan Themis (200kV, XFEG, Cs-probe corrector) équipé d'un détecteur EDX SuperX et d'un usineur ionique à faisceau d'ions focalisé FEI dual-beam Scios.


TEM TEM/STEM Titan Themis 200

- canon XFEG 80-200 keV
- détecteur Chemistem Super-X (EDX)
- correcteur Cs sonde (rés : 80 pm)
- modes d'imagerie : STEM BF, ABF, HAADF
- pièce polaire S-Twin : entrefer 5,4 mm
(résolution Scherzer : 240 pm)
- caméra CMOS CETA 4kx4k
- cryo-transfert
- plasma cleaner
- cryo-plongeur (hébergé au LPS)
TEM Dual-Beam Scios


- colonne électronique NiCol UHR Non immersion FESEM
- colonne ionique Sidewinder 500V-30kV
- détecteur In-lens
- détecteurs ETD/ICE
- manipulateur Easy-Lift In-situ
- double système d'injection de gaz Pt et C

Le C2N est également acteur du projet NANOMAX dédié à l'étude de la croissance de nanocristaux en temps réel avec la résolution atomique dans un microscope environnemental (FEI Titan ETEM 300kV installé à l'Ecole Polytechnique).



Téléphones : 01 69 63 61 73 et 01 69 63 61 74

Responsables : G. Patriarche, L. Largeau


Puce Microscopes à force atomique

Le microscope à force atomique est aujourd'hui un outil indispensable pour caractériser les surfaces à l'échelle nanomètrique et atomique. L'utilisation de la complémentarité de ces équipements AFM en association avec d'autres techniques de caractérisation de surface, tels que le microscope électronique à balayage, permet le développement de procédés technologiques efficaces. Les analyses de base des caractéristiques de surface (topographie, rugosité, épaisseur de films) avec une résolution monoatomique, ou des études utilisant les modes magnétiques ou électriques sont utilisés. L'AFM peut aussi été utilisé comme nano-outil pour modifier la surface d'un échantillon par oxydation anodique locale (LAO). Les trois AFM sont gérés par une équipe spécifique (3 personnels permanents), qui répond aux demandes et forme les utilisateurs. Deux des trois AFM sont situés dans la salle blanche. L'un est utilisé dans l'accès restreint et rattaché à la centrale de technologie, tandis que les deux autres sont consacrés à des études spécifiques dans les équipes des départements Matériaux et Nanoélectronique.

Objectifs

Puce Veeco Nanoscope III

Veeco Nanoscope III
Characteristics :
Operating modes : Tapping and contact
Observation modes : topography, STM, MFM, EFM, LAO
Z resolution : 0.03nm
Scanning field : 50 * 50 µm
Sample size : until 10 mm


Specificity :
Under atmosphere controlled


Localisation :
bâtiment D2


Contact :
Christophe DAVID
Tél : 01 69 63 61 82

Puce Veeco Nanoscope IIIa

Veeco Nanoscope IIIa
Characteristics :
Operating modes : Tapping and contact
Observation modes : topography, MFM, EFM/KFM, LAO
Z resolution : 0.03nm
Scanning field : 50 * 50 µm
Sample size : until 10 mm


Localisation :
salle blanche


Contact :
Noëlle GOGNEAU
Tél : 01 69 63 61 75

Puce Veeco Nanoman Dimension V

Veeco Nanoman Dimension V
Characteristics :

Operating modes : Contact and tapping
Observation modes : topography, MFM, EFM/KFM, LAO
Z resolution : 0.05nm
Scanning field : 90 * 90 µm
Sample size : until 150 mm

Specificity :
equipped for nanomanipulations of nano devices

Localisation :
salle blanche

Contact :
Christophe DAVID
Tél : 01 69 63 61 82



Responsables
Christophe David, Noëlle Gogneau, Laurent Couraud.



Puce Actions

Les principales actions rattachées sont :


Nous contacter         Annuaire         Venir au C2N Marcoussis